ASHE recently recognized several members at its annual conference in Atlanta for their dedication to improving the health care physical environment.

"Whether ASHE is celebrating them for their dedicated service, innovative ideas or leadership qualities, these professionals are furthering our goal of optimizing the health care physical environment," said ASHE Executive Director Dale Woodin, CHFM, FASHE.

ASHE's Crystal Eagle Award for lifetime achievement was presented to Douglas S. Erickson, FASHE, CHFM, HFDP, CHC, president of TME Inc., Little Rock, Ark. The President's Award, which is presented at the discretion of the sitting ASHE president to an individual who goes above and beyond to optimize the health care physical environment, was given to Arthur D. Kjos, AIA, NCARB, FASHE, principal at Clark/Kjos Architects in Portland, Ore.

The team from the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston was the 2013 winner of the Excellence in Healthcare Facility Management Award, which is sponsored by Trane.

ASHE also recognized members who attained Senior (SASHE) and Fellow (FASHE) status.

The SASHE designation is bestowed on those who have been members in good standing for at least five years and have supported ASHE in terms of education and leadership. New SASHE recipients are: Edward M. Browne, CHFM, SASHE, Hyannis, Mass.; York W. Chan, CHFM, CHC, SASHE, Oak Brook, Ill.; Gary Giovinazzo, CHFM, SASHE, New York City; Sean M. Goings, CHSP, CEM, SASHE, Houston; James H. Gross, CHFM, SASHE, Dansville, N.Y.; Steven L. Gulick, CHFM, CHSP, SASHE, Stillwater, Okla.; Gary L. Hempeck, CHFM, SASHE, St. Paul, Minn.; Frederic C. Lastar, CHFM, SASHE, Phoenix; John D. Maurer, CHFM, CHSP, SASHE, Oakbrook Terrace, Ill.; Gary Milewski, CHFM, SASHE, Raleigh, N.C.; James C. Ostrom, CHFM, SASHE, Peoria, Ill.; Jona Roberts, CHFM, SASHE, Lebanon, N.H.; Dennis E. Smith, CHFM, SASHE, Manhattan, Kan.; and Ron D. Thetford, CHFM, SASHE, Ada, Okla.

The FASHE designation is bestowed on those who have been members in good standing for at least seven years and have supported ASHE through education, leadership and written contributions. New FASHE recipients are: Robert H. Bartels, CHFM, FASHE, Arlington Heights, Ill.; Arthur D. Kjos, AIA, NCARB, FASHE, Portland, Ore.; and Leo T. Old, CHFM, CHC, FASHE, Memphis, Tenn.

ASHE also announced the following Emerging Regional Leader Award winners: Region 1: John A. Gaetano, CHFM, Utica, N.Y.; Region 2: Francis J. Connelly, CHFM, Philadelphia; Region 3: Michael S. Elks, P.E., CHFM, CHE, Durham, N.C.; Region 4: David Kovacs, Palm Coast, Fla.; Region 5: Matthew L. Greis, CHFM, Edgewood, Ky.; Region 6: Laurie Anseth, CHFM, Buffalo, Minn.; Region 7: Steven L. Gulick, CHFM, CHSP, Stillwater, Okla.; Region 8: Sean M. Mulholland, P.E., CHFM, CHC, Colorado Springs, Colo.; Region 9: Norman D. Lantz, CHFM, Torrance, Calif.; Region 10: Benjamin A. Myers, BOC, CHFM, Spokane, Wash.

By Deanna Martin, senior communications specialist for ASHE.

ASHE insight

E2C program changes name

ASHE's Energy Efficiency Commitment (E2C) program has been recognizing energy-saving hospitals since 2006. Now the program is changing its name to the Energy Efficiency Challenge. In its new format, hospitals not only can track their own reductions in energy use, but also can compare and challenge other hospitals in their systems or geographical areas. For more information about the E2C program, visit the Sustainability Roadmap website at

ASHE Blog offers free subscription service

The ASHE Blog keeps members up-to-date on the latest developments affecting the health care physical environment. The blog also offers a free subscription service so that members can get posts delivered directly to their email inboxes. To sign up for this service, visit, sign in and click "Subscribe" in the black bar near the top of the page.

Energy University classes open

ASHE, in partnership with Schneider Electric, recently rolled out Schneider's Energy University to ASHE members. ASHE has identified courses beneficial for facilities managers, energy managers and technicians. For more information, visit